What a Cold Does?

What does a sore throat, a blocked and running nose, a severe headache, heavy eyelids, mild shivering, a slight temperature do ? (I asked that yesterday)

images

1.It reminds me and makes me reflect on Prophet Muhammad’s (pbuh) advise to: “Take benefit of 5 before 5:Your youth before your old age, your health before your sickness, your wealth before your poverty, your free time before you are preoccupied, and your life before your death” (Narrated by Ibn Abbas and reported by Al Hakim)

Good health is something we take for granted. Only when you are sick and you have a hard time doing work,eat,drink,read,pray,study do you realize that how wonderful it was when you were healthy,how smoothly things went but you didn’t appreciate it so much then.

Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) rightly said, “There are two blessings which many people waste: health and free time.” (reported by Ibn Abbas,Sahih Bukhari)

2.It encourages me to keep “running” back to God.

When we are sick,we think of God more than we normally do. I think about all the mistakes I’ve made,all the wrong things I’ve done,all the times I became heedless and forgot God,forgot my purpose. I think what if it gets worse,what if something serious is diagnosed.

You may say what will a cold do? How silly it is and how dumb to think so much? My friends, last few weeks I’ve heard of sicknesses and deaths of many people and what may look like “just a cold or fever” or “just a wound” or “nothing great” led to serious and severe consequences. My mind is flooded with images of the descriptions I’ve heard.

3.When you’re seriously sick,you don’t feel like doing much,you tend to lose interest in doing something at a stretch. You may feel sleepy or lazy often. What do you do? Lie on the bed all the time? Do you feel like watching movies/serials,using phone/tablet/ipads/laptops,playing games,listening to music etc?

I don’t think using or doing that for long helps. It is better to be moderate.

This is what I do. I try to follow my routine,do as much as I can and plan resting time when I start feeling weak. My duties,roles and responsibilities,at home or at work are mine. I must do it myself. That helps build trust,to strengthen relationships at home and at work. (Understand this.By giving all your energy to work and nothing at all to the family is wrong. Even if you are earning “for them.” )

That will give me a sense of satisfaction.That makes me feel less gulity because I did what I could, the rest isn’t possible for me. When you are sincere,honest and genuine,God may put love in the hearts of the people and you’ll be well looked after,well taken care of.

Lying down when I’m tired,I think of how this illness, this experience can help me be a better person. I try to connect things in my life that I didn’t pay attention to because now “I have the time” (sometimes we say,”but I don’t have the time!”). I try to think,to reflect on how I can put it across as a message,an inspiration or reflection to share with others through my social media profiles or books or workshops.

Alhamdolillah I do have a workshop in mind. I love learning, researching,reflecting and connecting different topics/fields/subjects/issues together (through the different experiences I go through) to help people from different backgrounds connect to my message. (The uploaded workshop on past is an example of that). It’s so exciting! So much thinking and hard work and creativity required for creating content and activities). Well,not possible to write or note or start immediately but a so called negative experience must be turned into a positive one always,no matter what. This is what I believe. This is what I do. And I do it for the people around me too. Life is too short to be wasted brooding on the negative. And the purpose of “the negatives” is to help us “develop the positives” ! (Think about photography with old cameras 🙂

Now,You might think- “Why take all this so seriously? It’s not worth thinking about ? Come on,relax,stop thinking so much !”

Oh my friends,it is time you take it seriously, it is time you take your life seriously. If you don’t, you can be in serious trouble ! One day,you’ll regret it so much but you won’t be able to come back and fix things or your life !

You say it’s not worth talking about. My friend,God sends signs to us to “return to Him” through the painful, hurtful experiences that we go through. We know this- “To God we belong and to Him is our return.”

These experiences are not sent to break us but to build us,to help us build a better relationship with Him,to invest and build a better hereafter for ourselves.

Well indeed we return to God after death but if you want eternal happiness, eternal good health and success,you must return to God even when you’re alive. Every time you err,you sin,you make mistake immediately go back,return to Him. Ask for His Forgiveness, for Peace,for Good and Healthy mind,body and soul.

You say stop thinking so much. My friend, it is time you start thinking seriously today before it’s too late.

Who knows if we will be alive the next moment?
Who knows if we will be able to breathe the next moment?
Who knows if our heart will beat the next moment?
Who knows?

Not you. Not I. He does.
Before you return to Him after death.He wants you to return to Him while you are alive. He wants you to have a good life after death but it is you who has to prepare.It is you who has to work. It is you who has to make that effort. To run back to Him. To not let people or things block you from running back to Him.
And when you do that,this is what will happen.

Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) said : God said,
“I am as My servant thinks (expects) I am. I am with him when he mentions Me. If he mentions Me to himself, I mention him to Myself; and if he mentions Me in an assembly, I mention him in an assembly greater than it. If he draws near to Me a hand’s length, I draw near to him an arm’s length.
And if he comes to Me walking, I go to him at speed.’” -(Sahih Bukhari)

See,told you ! Imagine what that means.
How that will transform you !
How that will transform your life !
How that will transform the people around you !
How that will transform their life !

Leave a Reply

