What Science taught me

Alhamdulillah for everything.Looking back at my life as a Science student I realized that even though the days were hectic/exhausting..Science taught me a lot !

The two tiring,hard working years in class 11 and 12 with pure science subjects-Physics,Chem,Bio,Maths,Eng,Hindi,Evs taught me about “time management”. I had a tution teacher to guide me in all 4 subjects. Weekdays and weekends-studying all day,doing practicals and files and projects,practising sums or diagrams. In addition,to that I would enjoy writing Eng Lit chapters,poems and Pygmalion answers and Eng Lang essays after reflection and with quotes. Hindi and EVS too.That was a kind of break,refreshment.

I remember,I had to plan out my day so that I would be able to pray,read Quran,family time. No time for volunteering for social causes outside school.

I would enjoy cricket,marching,fetes and fests,Alhamdulillah.

After that came the even more exhausting College years with Botany,9 am to 6 pm. That taught me patience,something I feel I lacked in teenage years.

The patience required to do prism drawing,to draw the plant and its parts just as they were,cutting thin sections,squashing technique for root tips,searching microscopic field for cell stages and drawing,counting oxygen bubbles or titration.

Immense patience required. Hand would pain,eyes would pain,head and back would pain. We would complain initially but then got used to it,Alhamdulillah.

Those 3 years,I didnt require tution so I managed to take out some time for volunteering,most of it in college. I learnt then to make the most of the situation,of the people around. Around 1st year,I came across IOU diploma dawah module course and it was a blessing,Alhamdulillah !

So what if I couldnt do Dawah and interact with youth outside. Allah gave me opportunities to do Dawah to professors,students,maids in between classes,breaks,before or after college,free periods,events,sports day,dawah to random people in the library. Memorable days ! Alhamdulillah.

At home or college while doing practicals or notes,I would hear khutbahs and that was a life changer too along with Burooj,Alhamdulillah. I would hear Sh.Bilal Philips,Sh.Zahir Mahmood,Ustadh Nouman Ali Khan,Sh.Tawfique Chowdhury.. I enjoyed practicals and projects even at home. The music (in earlier years) was replaced by khutbahs and they inspired me..atleast my mind wouldnt wonder or hum songs or become dull.

The hectic schedule didnt matter then. I enjoyed Botany and being a da’ee. Some incidents were strange.(I shall write about them,in sha Allah). I started writing reflective articles on Botany,Science and would share my reflections with professors and friends.

I thank Allah for the blessing of being a science student. What I learnt in those years,help me today when I want to plan or organize an event or manage and plan the day with so much in mind.

I wrote this not to complain (really no reason to complain) but to share what I thought today when I could complete certain things I planned but thought wouldnt complete. Alhamdulillah !

To all the Science students or people who complain about their present situation,be grateful to Allah. With time,in sha Allah,you will realize that everything happens for a reason and its for your own good.

We humans have this tendency of complaining but we forget the bigger picture. Perhaps its a training for something,bigger and better,higher goals and purpose.

May Allah make us grateful and patient slaves of His. Ameen

Leave a Reply

