Marrying the person you love?

Young people often share quotes on marrying the person to whom your heart has become attached.

*We need to safeguard ourselves and seek Allah’s protection against the love that grows in the heart.

*If the heart becomes too attached to a person ..it isnt right. That intense love should be for Allah alone.

*The love before marriage is not halal love.

*Keep it halal. Approach the wali or the trusted elders.

*If it works out,Alhamdulillah. If it doesnt,Alhamdulillah.

*What is meant to be,it will happen and what is not meant to be,will not happen no matter what you do or how hard you try.

*Do Istikhara to know if its the right thing to do by seeking counsel from Allah and you will see if its good for you,it will become easy. The last part of Istikhara,infact the whole dua is beautiful.

The dua is:

O Allaah, I seek Your guidance [in making a choice] by virtue of Your knowledge, and I seek ability by virtue of Your power, and I ask You of Your great bounty. You have power, I have none. And You know, I know not. You are the Knower of hidden things. O Allaah, if in Your knowledge, this matter (then it should be mentioned by name) is good for me both in this world and in the Hereafter (or: in my religion, my livelihood and my affairs), then ordain it for me, make it easy for me, and bless it for me. And if in Your knowledge it is bad for me and for my religion, my livelihood and my affairs (or: for me both in this world and the next), then turn me away from it, [and turn it away from me], and ordain for me the good wherever it may be and make me pleased with it.”

(Reported by al-Bukhaari, 6841; similar reports are also recorded by al-Tirmidhi, al-Nisaa’i, Abu Dawood, Ibn Maajah and Ahmad).

*Trust Allah. Have faith in Him. Make Dua.

*Above all,think why you want marriage or marry a certain person ? i.e. What is your Intention?

We know from the Quranic verses and hadith how a marriage helps and that we should choose piety above all criteria.

If you want to marry to seek the Pleasure of Allah,to follow the Sunnah,to raise a generation of pious,healthy individuals then Make dua,Trust Allah.

May Allah grant us halal love that will help us grow closer to Him,to obey Him. May Allah grant us spouses that will be a means of improving our relationship with the Creator and those who will help us raise healthy and pious individuals that will be assets to the world. Ameen

Leave a Reply

