Teaching

Today,instead of me teaching my brother,I told him to teach me.

Alhamdulillah,a wonderful experience.
So much to learn.

It gave me him confidence.When he wrote something wrong,I would give a confusing expression and he would apologetically say,”Beta,I dont know that.” ๐Ÿ™‚

I wrote with my left hand to make him feel good and told him to call out the spellings.That way he was revising.I was testing if he knew the spellings.

Once done with my writing..while he was checking..I asked him to explain what each word meant. There were many words he didnt know so I explained..and then told him, “Sir,I want to revise..pls explain again.” When he forgot..I told him “Sir,you were saying about that building (for far)” and he would remember…

For number work,I knew he was confused with spellings of 12,fifteen and five,13 so I deliberately wrote wrong spellings so that he would correct me.

For Hindi,he taught me the easy way of writing..3 and 1 makes “a”,s and arabic “wow” below makes “e”..

For Arabic,he was teaching me the sounds.
The way his Moulana taught him.

And at the end he was happy and he gave me smileys !
Aww,ma sha Allah. ๐Ÿ™‚

We can learn so much from kids,Alhamdulillah.

Teaching them everyday could make them bored.Once in a while,trying something new helps.

While doing this,I learnt a few things:

1)The child would know and be confident of his strengths.

2)When he doesnt know,he would learn to ask,to question and not to be told and not feel shy to confess that he doesnt know something.

3)Kids often complain that their hands pain when they write.So,if I am writing,he wont complain and my work is done-he should revise.

4)While checking,he was paying attention to each letter and I observed how he learnt that way ..he understood his own mistakes..e.g.Five and fifteen.He knew he was the teacher,so if I was wrong he had to correct.

5)Meaning of words-giving him examples from where we were-on the terrace.

6)Studying in the open..Fresh air.

Alhamdulillah ! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

